Music for Advent

music for advent 2019 - cranleigh choral society

JS Bach: Cantata ‘Wachet auf’

Lauridsen: O magnum mysterium

Schubert: Mass in G

Susan Jiwey (soprano)

Paul Hopwood (tenor)

Merriman Chamber Orchestra

Conductor: Andrew Thomas

Cranleigh Choral Society has been a regular feature of village life for over 100 years. Today it continues to provide opportunities to participate in music-making at the heart of the local community and to become part of a circle of music enthusiasts, both in and out of rehearsals.

Cranleigh Choral Society present Music for Advent, on Saturday December 14th at 7.30pm in Cranleigh Village Hall; together with Susan Jiway, soprano, Paul Hopwood, tenor, and the Merriman Chamber Orchestra, conducted by Andrew Thomas.

The concert begins with F. Schubert’s Mass in G Major, followed by the Concerto for Violin & Oboe in C minor, by J.S. Bach, performed by the Merriman Chamber Orchestra, leader Kevin Weaver with Sarah Williams on oboe.

After the interval the choir will sing ‘O Magnum Mysterium’ by the American composer Morten Lauridsen, and the concert will conclude with the choir and soloists performing J.S. Bach’s lovely Christmas Cantata ‘Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme’.

Cranleigh Choral Society – Saturday 14th December – Cranleigh School Chapel

Interested in Singing?

Come along to a rehearsal – You’re welcome to attend.
Just contact us to let us know when!

  • 01403 823061

Sign up to our Newsletter

    (We do not share your data with anybody, and only use it for its intended purpose)